The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC)

The Nursing and Midwifery Council is the independent regulator for nurses, midwives, and nursing associates in the United Kingdom, as well as nursing associates in England. Its primary objective is to safeguard the health and well-being of the public by ensuring that midwives meet the necessary standards of education, training, and professional conduct. It actively advocates for midwives, impacts policies affecting the profession, and contributes to the larger healthcare landscape with an ultimate goal to protect the public. 

(Excerpt from the HBMA Handbook)


Since April 2016, to maintain your registration with the NMC you must go through the revalidation process. Revalidation aims to increase public trust in midwifery while encouraging best practices. It is not an evaluation of your level of fitness to practise, but it is there to promote a culture of improvement, reflection, and sharing. It will help the service users that you care for as well as you as a midwife


To meet the revalidation criteria, it is required to demonstrate continuous skill and knowledge growth, ensuring you maintain safe and effective clinical practice. Your application to revalidate should be submitted online every 3 years, using your NMC online account, following a reflective discussion with another NMC registrant (ideally someone more experienced than yourself). The entire process is a chance to contemplate the significance of the NMC Code and to prove that you embody the standards outlined within it

  • 450 practice hours
  • 35 hours of CPD including 20 hours of participatory learning
  • 5 pieces of practice-related feedback
  • 5 written reflective accounts
  • Reflective discussion
  • Health and character declaration
  • Professional indemnity arrangement

Failure to submit your timely revalidation online application will result in your removal from the NMC register, and it is your own responsibility to inform the NMC should you need extra support and/or time extension to revalidate.